Mitochondrial Disease

The Blahger

I’ve known for quite a few years that I have a rare disease. Actually, as a kid, I had such strange ailments that my parents took me to Mayo Clinic, where I we were told it was Lupus. My sister still carries that as a diagnosis. Doctors said I would probably never have children. What they should have said is “You should never have kids.” That way I would not have passed on whatever genetic mutations have caused so much suffering for so many of my kids.

But I was cocky when I was young. And I felt pretty good while pregnant and nursing. In time things caught up to me. I produce so many kidney stones that both sides of my body show evidence of stones present, and those who have left behind scar tissue. Tomorrow I go in for surgery to remove a monster stone from the left…

View original post 726 more words

Leave a Reply

